53rd Annual Kerr Cup Regatta

Bucknell Men’s Crew traveled to Philadelphia, PA this past weekend begin the Championship season with the 53rd Annual Kerr Cup Regatta, hosted by Drexel University to honor former Drexel Coach, Dr. Thomas Kerr, Jr. The races were held on the infamous Schuylkill River course in downtown Philly, with a high flow rater and varying headwinds throughout the day.

The first race of the day for Bucknell was the Men’s Varsity 4+ Heat with Fordham, Carnegie Mellon, and Loyola MD. With only two crews advancing to the Final, Bucknell (7:16) would be squeezed out by Fordham (7:04) and Carnegie Mellon (7:12) for third over Loyola MD (7:32).

The second event of the day for the Bison was the Men’s 2V 8+ Heat where Bucknell would have to take top 3 to move on to the Grand Final. The 2V would prove to be a fast contender in this race, holding on to St. Joe’s through most of the race. The finish line had Yale 4V (6:09) taking the lead, followed by St. Joe’s (6:22) and Bucknell (6:24) all advancing to the Grand Final and the race closing with La Salle (6:38) and Lehigh (6:50). In the Grand Final for the 2V, Bucknell was the only ACRA team present. Yale 4V (6:02) would take the win over Drexel (6:18), St. Joe’s (6:23), UC San Diego (6:27), Temple (6:32) and Bucknell (6:36).

The Men’s 1st Varsity 8+ was the last boat of the day to have heats before Finals started for the Bison. Here, Bucknell had to get top 2 in order to progress to the Grand Final. Through the first first 1500+, Bucknell was able to maintain contact with Drexel, being down only a couple seats, to end up taking second in the heat, pushing out the rest of the field. The heat’s times would have Drexel (5:59) in first with Bucknell (6:04), Army (6:10), Villanova (6:27), Washington College (6:37) and University of Mary Washington (7:00) to close the field. Once back on the water, Bucknell again would be the only ACRA program in the Grand Final for the Men’s Varsity 8+ at the Kerr Cup. With some strong competition, the Bison would take on a highly competitive and tight field for most of the race. The Final race of the day would have Yale 3V (5:46) taking home the Kerr Cup, and the race closing up with Drexel (5:58), St. Joe’s (6:00), UC San Diego (6:03), Colgate (6:07), and Bucknell (6:09) to finish.

The Men’s Pair event was the first race of the day for Bucknell that would be a Grand Final only event. Here, Bucknell faced off against two Loyola MD boats and a Washington College boat. With it not being a fully buoyed course, all boats had issues staying on course into the head wind, and Washington College pushed Bucknell our of their lane coming into the 1000m mark. Loyola A (8:01) took first with Washington College (8:23), Bucknell (8:29) and Loyola B (8:57) closing the field.

For the Men’s 3V event, Bucknell again was straight to Final, and similarly to the 1V and 2V, was the only ACRA program present. The 3V showed up in Philly with a plan to show everyone that they have an eye on the inaugural 3V event at the 2019 ACRA National Championship. Proving to be a boat to contend with, the Bison 3V held on to Drexel and St. Joe’s at a nearly even level through the 1200 mark. Drexel and St. Joe’s were able to bump the rate enough to gain a lead over Bucknell and the race would conclude with Yale (6:00) for the win followed by Drexel (6:17), St. Joe’s (6:23), Bucknell (6:34), Temple (6:46, and La Salle (6:48).

Next up for the Bison is the Mid-Atlantic Rowing Conference (MARC) in Lewisbury, PA on Lake Pinchot on Saturday, April 27th. Bucknell Men’s Crew became official members the conference this year.

1st Varsity 8 – 2018 Resolute Mid-weight XT
Cox: Max Silverman ’22
8: Ryan McSherry ’19
7: Philip Onffroy ’22
6: Alex Seel ’20
5: Drew Stonnington ’19
4: Tom Lanphier ’20
3: John Leasure ’19
2: Duncan Ragland ’19
Bow: Bobby Subak ’21

2nd Varsity 8 – Class of 1985
Cox: Daniel Joseph ’22
8(p): Matt Brown ’20
7(s): Matt LaRouche ’20
6(s): Davis MacKelcan ’22
5(p): Gunnar Vorwerk ’19
4(p): Peter Foradora ’22
3(s): Alex Herman ’20
2(p): Chris Mangano ’21
Bow(s): Harry Hobart ’22

3rd Varsity 8 – Scott Uebele ’00
Cox: Brody Mistrot ’21
8: Nick Caravias ’22
7: Aaron Swope ’22
6: Liam Pearce ’21
5: Jackson Ingram ’21
4: Phil Thompson ’20
3: Cian Nowak ’22
2: Ryan Wang ’19
Bow: Taylor LaRosa ’21

Varsity 4+ – 2001 Empacher
Cox: Max Silverman ’22
4: Sebastian Bickford ’21
3: Christian Sieck ’22
2: Ethan Laurens ’22
Bow: Conrad Fite ’22

Varsity 2-
Sebastian Bickford ’21
Sam Jacob ’20